Daily Archives: April 19, 2012

Forest For The Trees

My husband is setting up a new business at the moment. And closing down an old one. He is refurbishing a site, dealing with investors and filling in mountains of paperwork. I have been helping him. In a situation like this you genuinely feel there aren’t enough hours in the day and that you can’t see the forest for the trees. It is also interesting how many people create unnecessary obstacles to work being completed because they are pushing their own agenda.

It is good to have business partners but it is also bad to have business partners. The old adage: Too Many Cooks Spoil The Broth keeps ringing in my head and I hope it isn’t some kind of prophecy. Some men are actually much bitchier than women. I found that out this week. It has opened my eyes very, very wide. And had made me reduce my level of involvement in the new venture.

I can’t handle drama anymore. I’m weary of it. Maybe I’m getting too old for it or maybe I have come to realise that carrying on like a pork chop doesn’t get the job done any faster or any more efficiently. So I’m staying out of it and concentrating on my own projects.

There’s nothing like having the time to hear leaves crunching underfoot. To see that pale yellow light that only comes in late afternoon sliding along and between branches. I run like a child playing a game of hide and seek straight into the midst of it, smelling the earthy underbrush, touching stones still warm from the day; to the place where I can sit and feel and breathe. Just me, here and now. My special, quiet little spot. Such a gift. The place where I am able to see the forest and the trees.